Iron Man MKVII Foam and Pepakura combo build for display in man cave (First build)

Blazini

First off, I would like to say thanks to the following people for their time, efforts and generosity:

Darkside501st
STEALTH
xrobots
jackiesrockin
ironmaided
JFcustoms
EyeofSauron
labsic
Sharkhead7854
robo3687
j0wE
anyone else I missed

If you need great files or tuts, do a thread search for these members, they are monsters. Don't forget to checkout their youtube channels, facebook pages or websites for even more info and resources.

Okay, so this is my first build and it took some practicing with different mediums, tools and techniques. I started with pepping the hand plates and forearms of a MKIII HD file set. I had great success, but soon realized that there was an alternative way of creating armor that might be faster, foam.

Based on my research, foam is a quicker build but yields slightly less details when compared to pepakura. Foam also helps with ease of movement when wearing the armor. Pepping yields a more detailed piece, but it takes longer with the added steps of bodywork (bondo, sand, fill, sand, primer, sand, paint). With foam, you simply fill your gaps with silicone caulking of something similar, coat with glue to seal, coat with plastic for rigidity, lightly sand in some details, then paint.

With this knowledge, I decided to embark on a fully scaled MKVII platform to display in my man cave (my wife wont let me keep it in the living room). So far, its my favorite suit from the movies. Some pieces will be pepped, others will be a combo of 3mm, 4mm and 10mm foam.

Using a utility knife and files from Darkside501st (edited by ironmaided and jackiesrockin), I managed to create two hand plates last night. I made a novice mistake and forgot to scale them. Maybe Ill use them with the Rescue suit I want to build after this.