Purchasing a vacuum chamber in the UK

moonjam

Hi all,

Firstly my apologies if this is in the wrong place or if it's a stupid question, I've done a search of the forum and couldn't yield any results.

Does anyone know of a good supplier of vacuum chambers and pumps in the UK? I've found a few via simple Google searches but I wanted to ask here in case people had recommendations based on experience.

For some background information, I'm doing some silicone moulding and the silicone has to be completely clear of bubbles. I've tried vibrating the molds with various tools and contraptions I've made but it seems nigh on impossible to have it 100% bubble free. My limited research has lead me to the conclusion that a pressure chamber would effectively degas the mix and allow for completely smooth silicone.

If there is another route or option that I've missed then please let me know as I am new to this.

Cheers!

AJ

I've been doing the same sort research my self. It seems, to get the best results, you need both a pressure chamber, and a vacuum chamber. After mixing your resin, you want to put it in the vacuum chamber to remove air that was introduced during the mixing process. Then, after pouring into the mold, you want to place the mold into the pressure chamber while the resin cures. The pressure will shrink any remaining bubbles to a smaller size. This process can also be used when making your silicone molds.

I don't see any reason you cant use the same "chamber" for both pressure (attaching an air compressor) and vacuum (attaching a vacuum pump). but as I said, I'm still researching. I'm anxious to hear what the pros have to say! :popcorn

hope that helps
Yep, those are the results I've already found. I just wanted to know if people had personal experience or could recommend a supplier first hand. :)

jbootes - yep, that's exactly what I've found out. Hope someone who knows their stuff can give us some tips :D