MojoK's 2012 Halloween Costume Contest Entry

MojoK

Hey RPF'ers!

I decided to go topical this year and I made a costume I've titled Big Bird Slayer! I figured Big Bird was going to be the goto costume of the year after Romney mentioned wanting to kill him in the first presidential debate. A few of you may remember the excellent DragonCon costume from a few years back called Cookie Monster Slayer. My costume is an homage to that with a sort of political joke built in. Obviously, this isn't as involved as a lot of the other costumes on this forum but I hope you all get a kick out of it! I had a great time building it. I'd say about half the people "got" the joke and got a good laugh out of it ;) and the other half thought I was a monster for killing Big Bird :facepalm .

bigbirdslayer1.jpg

bigbirdslayer2.jpg

I had a very short amount of time to build this and I have a lot of experience with building electrical bits for costumes (you can check out my previous tron costume) but very little when it comes to building armor, etc.. I had a very specific idea of a using a black gladiator outfit with a yellow and gold armor adorned with the Big Bird feathers/fur. Sadly, I didn't document the beginning of this build very well, but about halfway through I started making sure to document the steps a bit more closely. I actually have very few well lit high quality pix of the final build since I worked on it up until the moment I took it to the parties!

The initial phase was lots of sketches outlines and trying to work out the specific color schemes. I got the Big Bird outfit from an Ebay... as I predicted it was completely sold out everywhere else! I used the head piece for the skewered Big Bird head and the body for the armor adornments.
bbcostume.jpg