Funnaejc's 2012 Halloween costume contest entry

funnaejc

IMG_4522.jpg

Hi y'all, just wanted to share what i have been doing for the past 2 months. Making this costume was my first ever costume build so please be nice. Took long hours of sanding, painting and thinking...

First i started with the scepter.. heres are some pictures.. i pretty much made this from looking at tons of peoples pages to get an idea of how to start. I really want to thank all the people who created loki costumes for all the ideas.
IMG_3467.jpg

IMG_3454.jpg

IMG_3482.jpg

IMG_3486.jpg

IMG_3508.jpg

IMG_3528.jpg

IMG_3525.jpg

Scepter made from pvc pipe covered with foam.. then covered with elmers white glue. Blades were made from balsa wood. Also used a light bulb painted transparent blue with a blue led inside. Cut of strips of zip lock bags were used to diffuse the light giving it a cool swirly effect.

The helmet was purchase as a raw kit from yarko..such a great dude btw.. I then bonded the horns to the helmet, primed and painted. Let me just tell you, sanding sucks! I actually took this helmet to a club for birthday a little before halloween, which was a bad idea. People tried it on so much the horns broke and i had to resand again. One piece of advice never bring cosplay stuff especially things that are fragile to a club party.

Here are the pics..
IMG_3530.jpg

IMG_3543.jpg

IMG_3552.jpg

Afterwards the main part of the costume.
I bought the inside part of the costume on ebay for like 40 bucks cause i didn't have the time to make it before halloween. I did however wanted a to wear a cape. Who doesn't want to wear a cape right?? Went to fabric store to purchase green fabric.. which was surprisingly cheap (2 bucks)! Then i made foam shoulder pads covered in pva glue. I cut out black floor mat (target..10 bucks) and attach it to the back of cape then i layered the cape over it. I then put velcro behind the bottom of the cape piece and attached it to the jacket.

Here are the pics