AVA's 2012 Halloween Costume Contest Entry

AVA

This is an entry for the group division. Pictured are the members of my cosplay group, "...And Sewing Is Half The Battle!"

Costuming experience: We started cosplaying at anime conventions about ten years ago, and have since branched out into sci-fi, games, books and film replica costumes. None of us have had any formal sewing instruction (except for one semester of home-ec in 7th grade, which I nearly failed). We are entirely self-taught, mostly through trial-and-error! I point this out only because since I've never had formal training, I'm not very good with "correct" sewing terminology, so I'll try to describe the construction as clearly as I can. :)

About the costumes: These are replicas from the Takarazuka Hoshigumi's 2008 production of The Scarlet Pimpernel (reference 1; reference 2; reference 3). The Takarazuka is an all-female performance group in Japan, known for incredibly lavish Broadway-style productions. Since all the performers are women, we had a challenge in turning the male member of our group into a man-pretending-to-be-a-woman-pretending-to-be-a-man. (Shades of Victor/Victoria!)

The Scarlet Pimpernel is set in the 1790s, but the costumes were clearly designed more for stage function and glamour than historical accuracy. I acquired programs, photo books and a DVD of the production and tried to deconstruct the costumes and sketch out how they were put together. I drafted a lot of our patterns from scratch, making a number of muslin mock-ups to alter and fit, and modified commercial patterns for some of the less unusual pieces (pants, etc.).

I'll give a description of each costume individually...

Marguerite