Captain america shield

crashdown903p

Hi, everyone. Im very new to this and have just started working on a costume for the first time. I am working on a captain america costume from the new film. Made my 1st attempt at a shield today. Spent all day on it, it turned out okay. Its not great though and far from looking like the one from the movie. Its made of wood, I glued two 8th inch sheets of door skin together and bent then, and let sit over night. Then covered it with canvas and painted it. Since it didnt turn out as good as I wanted I'm planning on trying again....Any suggestions for the next attempt? Should I use wood again, or something else? Thanks for your time, any help would be great. Ive attached a picture of the shield I built.

From what you said, and the picture you posted, it sounds like you are building the version used in "Captain America: The First Avenger" when he goes to rescue Bucky and the other POWs. I'll base suggestions on that.

The one you made actually looks pretty good! For a little more screen-accuracy, you could just modify the one you have by making the middle slope a bit narrower. But if you want to start over: A wood base sounds like a good idea, but you could use sheet aluminum on the front of it to give it a shine. Though, depending on the gloss of the paint used, you may not need it.

From what you said, and the picture you posted, it sounds like you are building the version used in "Captain America: The First Avenger" when he goes to rescue Bucky and the other POWs. I'll base suggestions on that.

The one you made actually looks pretty good! For a little more screen-accuracy, you could just modify the one you have by making the middle slope a bit narrower. But if you want to start over: A wood base sounds like a good idea, but you could use sheet aluminum on the front of it to give it a shine. Though, depending on the gloss of the paint used, you may not need it.