Need Major Help with Dying a Costume

BatmanMike

Need Help/Tutorial for Dying a Suit
Hello Everyone:

I want to be The Riddler (Arkham City) for halloween and am a perfectionist when it comes to creating costumes. Since I have been have little to no luck with finding a green suit, I am just going to buy a cheap suit and dye it the color I want (green, of course).

I have had no experience in dying any fabrics, but I want to do the machine wash fabric dying method, as that is the only affordable method I can do. If anyone reading this can give any advice, tutorials, or any other means of help to dye my suit (I have not purchased one at the moment), I will be very grateful, as I don't want to mess this up.

Here is a reference picture of what I want to accomplish:
http://images.wikia.com/villains/ima...kham_city).jpg

Thank you all for your time and input. :)

Last edited by a moderator:
One thing to keep in mind, the only way to dye a fabric, is that it has to natural fibers. Cotton, wool, leather, hide, natural fur.

So if a blazer or pants was like 65% polyester and 35% cotton, would I need to buy both a natural fiber dye and a synthetic fiber dye and mix them or something?