Merkymerx's The Amazing Spider-Man Build using Sonjou's Pattern (Pic Heavy)

merkymerx

My first ever extensive build thread!

Spidey's been my #1 hero ever since I was four. I've always wanted to own a high quality costume especially after seeing the first Raimi film. Back then though I was a student who couldn't afford such a thing. However now that I'm working, I can finally afford to make my first one.

There's a whole lot of work involved in making a TASM suit. All those applying the texture using puff paint can attest to that.

The application itself isn't too hard. However, repeating the process a zillion times over is very strenuous. The hard part is, I have to finish applying all the textures within the next week and a half to prepare for sewing. I'll be debuting this costume at the end of the month for a convention our group's looking forward to.

Many thanks to the people here at theRPF who made this possible!

Sonjou - Pattern
Joelai - Frames / Lenses
Epilepticsquirl - Shooter model at Shapeways
Face Shell - AZSpidey

And of course, a huge thanks goes to McL34N, El Fett, Redtogusa, and Nick Fox for being huge inspirations.

Anyway, on to the pics!

7947432846_3684fa6097_z.jpg

Face shell from AZSpidey. I love how light it is! Seems easy to cut too.

Asics GEL Dirt Dog 3, trimmed and painted. All I have left to do is to color in the blue parts on the left shoe.

549703_3700335913257_1766143584_n.jpg

579854_3700337193289_711852839_n.jpg

548128_3700341953408_978020433_n.jpg

223988_3700342473421_1797709576_n.jpg

7947345980_475e42d77a_z.jpg

My pattern by Sonjou printed at Fabric on Demand. After sealing the deal with Sonjou, I decided that I wanted to have darker areas on the red sections just like Mclean's pattern. So before sending it to the printers, I spent a good deal of time working on the file in Photoshop to get the look I wanted. Everything turned out better than I expected when I finally got the print in hand.