Young Justice Robin - DC Costume WIP

MMAndrew

2-2610.jpg

So, I've kinda been toying with this off and on for a few weeks, not even sure if I'm going to complete it or not, but here it is.

It should be known, I've never done anything like this before, and this would be my first 'build'.

The mask is just foam cut and layered with liquitex (which didn't work out too well), but I might just go in on a Xtreme Design FX mask instead.

Not sure yet about the black stitching down the middle, or whether or not I'll do the pieces that extend to the legs.. or how I'll even do this damn belt :facepalm

Any suggestions, help, or general costume making tutorials would be appreciated!

I might suggest the black stitching down the middle be a hidden zipper-the pull would be hidden by the cape, and it would make the tunic easy to get into. I am making this for a client,and that's how I'm doing it.

Looking good so far. I agree with the black lining down the middle as it separates the torso to make it look like an armour instead of a sheet lol. Keep it up!

The foam mask can work. Try this: just after cutting heat it up with a hair dryer (or leave it outside if it's really hot out) the you can bend and form it to fit your face better. Then layered with liquitex .

I like the zipper idea, Looch!
I think what has me concerned is cutting it, being that it's spandex.
Does it cut like normal fabric? or will it go all crazy on me?

Yup, it cuts just like any other fabric. If you are concerned however, put a zip in the back instead, 9" should do. The back would then be made in2 pieces, and you would sew with a regular stitch length until you got to the point where the bottom of the zip was and switch your stitch length to a "basting" size. Pin the zip to it, sew it on, and remove the basting stitch. Questions?

It's looking great so far man, I'm actually working on the same thing, and I've been hoping somebody else would be interested in this character.