Catwoman TDKR Mask Build

Flipip

Hi All

My SO wants to dress as Catwoman for halloween, but looking online we couldn't find any really good replica mask/goggles - so being the fool I am I've decided to build one.

So far I'm nearly done with the clay sculpt (pictures below), however i need to do a few repairs and adjustments (to the nose etc) and then im going to sculpt the side pieces and hopefully the goggles in the same way. I've never used clay before so this is all a bit daunting really.

Im3UOh.jpg

auo2Hh.jpg

tUC2Kh.jpg

QRsz9h.jpg

B4WjXh.jpg

I think im going to go for a silicone mould and then cast the mask in polyurethane resin - does that sound about right or am i totally confused?

Phil

This is looking incredible!! I can't believe you say it's daunting when it looks so wonderful. The symmetry is fantastic...I always have issues getting things to match. I'm really excited to see how you finish it! I bet the carbon fiber decals will take it to a whole new level. LOVE that part of her mask...

I rebuilt the right hand side of the nose last night, it wasn't as symmetrical as I would like ^^

Im heavily researching the goggles at the moment, i think its going to have to be another clay build around a wire frame and then cast - I cant find any sunglasses im happy to use as a base, especially with the double ridge at the front, also this way it will allow me to make the lights completely integrated with the goggles which *should* mean that I can get the copper contacts to work so the lights only activate when the goggles are down.

Working on the side panles this weekend - plus getting the mask ready for its first molding

I have the carbon fiber vinyl on order at the moment, should finish the mask off nicely - however I still need to trial out some of the finishes for the mask - I'm really glad I started this project so early!

Phil

Hi everyone!