Yet another Iron Man Mark VII WIP (UPDATE: Aug 27 - last page)

charades

Hello everyone. I'm kinda new...been lurking the forums for a couple months.

I'm starting construction on a partial Mark vii suit for FanExpo in Toronto. The final costume will be my interpretation because I'm female and simply don't want to wear a male shaped suit of armor. I know some girls do, but I just don't want to. Also, this is for a genderbender Avengers cosplay group. I'm a seamstress before an armor or prop builder, so I'm making a base garment which is a red and gold jumpsuit that is not 100% accurate, and then planning to pep the shoulders, chest, back, forearms and gloves, calves and boot. I'm leaving out the abs/cod/helmet/thighs.

I used the modded version of Darkside501's Mark VII pep files.
This is my first attempt, so the materials I'm using are cheap since I was afraid of wasting time/money on more expensive better quality materials. If this works, I want to go the fibreglass and bondo route later.

Continuous updates and photo posts can also be found on my tumblr - The Ironman Project

Materials used:
craft foam (also called "foamies")
muslin because I have a crap ton lying around
Mod Podge
hot glue
a comic graphic/illustration marker to draw the outlines of my pattern onto the foam, and that transfers ink all over my hands :)( my thumbs are blue)

The arc reactor is done (though not by me - my boyfriend created this from scratch because I don't know anything about electronics and he does):
tumblr_m5kb46K2u01ryywpqo1_500.jpg

Pepped the shoulder in paper to check size, fit, etc:
tumblr_m7hk1qLcyn1ryywpqo1_500.jpg

tumblr_m7hk3sH1vA1ryywpqo1_500.jpg

Then pepped it in foam:
tumblr_m7hqepz0vj1ryywpqo1_500.jpg

And reinforced on the inside with mod podge and muslin:
tumblr_m7hqkgtxSA1ryywpqo1_500.jpg

Last edited:
Re: Yet another Iron Man Mark VII WIP (photos)

Hello everyone. I'm kinda new...been lurking the forums for a couple months.