Help Someone with Another Loki Build? :D

AllInYourHead

I'm only going to be making the helmet (if I get that far) because my friend is in love it (and I with Loki admittedly) and I've been wanting to try my hand at molding/clay sculpture for experience relating to the special effects makeup I want to get into.
I don't have an armature nor can I find one, so I attempted to make the basic shape of the helmet with "Activ-Wire Mesh" that was an on-the-whim buy.
tumblr_m5wilvYPsW1qd9sdao1_500.png

tumblr_m5wikpTLYh1qd9sdao1_500.png

(This is my first build ever and this the beginning of step 1, so you're not allowed to laugh YET. :p)

The problem I've encountered is that when not resting on the paint can, it folds into itself like so
tumblr_m5wimthEXw1qd9sdao1_500.png

The layering is still very thin, but I was just wondering if this was a bad idea and if I should quit while I'm still ahead? What would you recommend?
Thank you!

I've seen some genius' on this forum make on-the-fly armature head pieces using aluminium foil and duct tape. Basically you wrap your/someones head with alfoil to get the shape of the head/face, and then you wrap THAT with duct tape to solidify the shape a bit more. Then you get it cut off and I guess fill it with something to make it solid so it doesn't fall in on itself when you push against it. That gives you a base on which to mould things and, if it's for a specific person, will allow for the proportions to be correct for them.

I haven't tried to make one myself yet, but I've been thinking about it, so if you do give it a shot let me know how you do it and how you go :D.

As for the sculpting, sorry I can't give any tips as I haven't done any of that myself either.