Daenerys S2 Crafting/Product Help

KhaleesiDani

Okay, so first off, my name is Dani :) I've been stalking this site for a while now when making my Black Widow costume, and really like the quality of work I see on this site and have already learned so much from people that I decided to officially join =)

Ever since starting to read the Song of Ice and Fire series three years ago, I have fallen in love with the character of Daenerys Targaryen and all her flaws and strengths. Despite the many changes in the series,. I love her just as much there as well, and even moreso; I love her costumes. I actually plan to do all her costumes at one point.... I've done her Season 1 Khaleesi outfit, her S1 Babyshower/heart-eating costume, and the Finale of S1 Burnt wedding dress.

I wanna make all the Season 2 outfits, but I've decided to start with this one first:

Daenerys_Qarth.jpg

Problem is, I have little to no experience in prop making or anything that's not sewing... I want to attempt to tackle that cage thing, but I have no idea how....

So any tips? Advice? I have a few possible ideas, but I want to hear from professionals on the best way to go about this.... I'd love to use metal, but I don't have the skills/tools to do so....

So yea, any help will be greatly appreciated =)

Last edited:
Hi, I'm a long time lurker but I thought I'd sign up to lend a hand.

I don't know if you've ever seen how cake decorators use spun sugar to create domes to cover areas of work, but it would seem you could use resin to do something very similar.

You might need another person to lay very still with see-thru plastic on them and then apply the resin around their shape (or, you say you sew a lot, you might have a mannequin which would be more useful).

Rather than placing strands, you could do it as a solid piece molded to your shape, and use a sharp modelling blade to remove pieces according to a stencil.

I think I saw you gnawing on your heart at Dragon Con! Very cool!