Iron man costume, First timer costume making

Xoxiao

Hi guys, First of all allow me to apologise for my clueless-ness but i have been considering starting a project recently and i have browsed many IM costume making threads on here. A few things i have either neglected to remember/read correctly, first of all i am curious about the material that is best for these projects? I am a metal smith (15th century armours and a few unique commision projects) but i can see metal is not ideal..

Since i am a noob to all of this my intentions are to attempt to make a IM helmet first of all so any advise would be greatly appreciated...

I prefer pep and fiberglass. take your time it's a pain but i like the result bc iron mans not squishy so foam was never an option for me. If you're used to working with metal i'd suggest reading a site called backyard metal casting, mainly lost foam casting. i'm doing my boots and helmet this way. i don't trust standing on fiberglass all night. aluminum is easy to work with just degass it well and it will take more than you would think. keep building it doesn't happen over a weekend but it's worth it.

Hi guys, First of all allow me to apologise for my clueless-ness but i have been considering starting a project recently and i have browsed many IM costume making threads on here. A few things i have either neglected to remember/read correctly, first of all i am curious about the material that is best for these projects? I am a metal smith (15th century armours and a few unique commision projects) but i can see metal is not ideal..

Since i am a noob to all of this my intentions are to attempt to make a IM helmet first of all so any advise would be greatly appreciated...

Metal would be awesome, but few here have the skills, materials, or tools required to work metal. The vast majority here use a combination of paper/fiberglass/bondo or foam.

Click here, and plan to spend the weekend reading. Welcome to the RPF!