New to sculpting: First zombie bust WIP

GrimmOmen

Hello,
I'm totally new to sculpting, but thought I'd post my first WIP. I'm working on a zombie bust, nothing realistic, just something that will allow me to focus on the basics like how to work with Sculpey, what the tools do, how to use them, and just how to start making as many mistakes as possible. :)

Stil have some things to smooth out, details to add and details to remove. I know it's pretty amaturish, but given that I've never sculpted before, I'm happy to see that there seems to be a modicum of sculpting talent to hopefully build on.

http://s278.photobucket.com/albums/kk103/jpharrod/Zombie_WIP/

You folks do some amazing work here, I hope to be able to approach your level of work at some point in the future!

Regards,
-Grimm
(Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD)

Damn man that's a great start...making loads of mistakes is half the fun (althought you don't think it at the time when u scrap hrs of work:p)

How are you finding working with sculpey?

Damn man that's a great start...making loads of mistakes is half the fun (althought you don't think it at the time when u scrap hrs of work:p)

How are you finding working with sculpey?

Exactly. I measure my proficiency by my willingness and ability to be able to cut out large swaths of something if it's not working and rebuild those areas over again... I was able to cut the lower rib cage out and start over, but did so with a little tremble in my hands LOL. I'm a professional artist by trade, so I had to say my little mantra "fear is the mind killer..." no wait, that's not mine - ah yes, it's "every time I have to start over, I'm always happier with the results." But it's only a little comfort given my newness to this art form.