Star Trek TOS captain's chair, was it real?

exetor999

Being a newbie here, I am amazed at the amount of information that you guys have on this site. That is why I wanted to bring up this discussion here, because someone here may know the truth.
On another site there was a discussion about the TOS captain's chair that was sold for 300,000.00, which showed pictures of the chair at auction. Some
people were saying that it was fake, and would never sell, etc. but nobody had any proof of it being real or not.
The center chair looked exactly like the one on the show, but from what I have seen here, you guys can reproduce just about anything, exactly like the original.
My point here is that the arms of the chair that was sold, where the captain has push buttons on the right hand, and rocker switchs on the left hand, on the chair that was sold, there are no holes on either right or left sides.
According to the person selling it on auction, there were no modifications made to the chair, and the inside looked pretty real to me, but I just don't know.
I know that the push buttons that Kirk pushed, had about 1/2 inch below the surface of the arm, and the rocker switchs did about the same, so there would have to be holes cut there.
And in at least one episode, I remember Kirk pulling one of those square recording disks out of the slot behind the push buttons, and there is no hole for that either.
So, I took the position that the chair was fake.

What do you guys think?