(really low)budget green ranger build - now on dummy - final budget: 98.20 €

EyeofSauron

Master Member
well, now that im knee deep in my power ranger helmet build, i found something i have never done before, which is fitting in a visor

now,i just want to make sure i get this right. i have a small budget, and therefor need to be careful with this stuff :D

so, basicly my question is: can i just get any random visor from anywhere?
you all know the power ranger helmet stuff, buti attached a pic to see what i mean

now, this is a thight fit helmet, its not much bigger than my head. what im thinking is: the motor cycle visors are attached to the outside of a motorcycle helmet, and therefor wider

will it fit inside my helmet without a problem?

can u use a heatgun to get it into shape?

will it be long enough to cover the whole thing (i mean especially on the sides, because the opening is wider than your usual halo etc helmet)

so heres my helmet so far (colored in photoshop for better understanding) and also a comparison shot from a finished one for the side view to see how deep it is

/edit i changed the tread title, this will be my build thread for the costume, didnt see any purpose in opening a new one :)

Last edited:
Re: fitting a visor?

Motorcycle visors are really sturdy. You are going to have a heck of a time cutting one to shape. I have never tried to heat shape one. I would try to find an old thrift shop one to experiment on if you go this route.

My suggestion is to get a secton of clear PET-G plastic, maybe 0.06 thick. This thickness would curve easily inside your helmet and would be easy to trim. It could be secured with glue or even duct tape.

For the color, you could tint the plastic with navy ( or whatever color) colored RIT dye. RIT dye is found in fabric stores.

Good luck.

yeah i thought of another option that is cheaper and easier to do than a motorcycle visor (at least if i do more than one helmet)