Tips for even lighting using LED's (my first time).

Lutso

Sr Member
I am making another custom Star Wars costume and am currently building up a chest box/flight box which will dominate the front chest area of the final costume. The chest box is based loosely off of the X-wing pilot chest boxes.

always eager to further develop my skills, I thought it would be fun to try implementing something that I have never tried before - LED lights.

I have the wiring and construction figured out - that is not where my question lies.

My question is about the actual technique.

On the front of the chestbox I want to have a large light-up display (think targeting computer). I plan to have some sort of semi-transparent/white opaque plastic with the LEDs behind it, giving it a "glow" when switched on. The area is roughly 2 1/2 in. by 6 in, and I want to use a bright orange/yellow for the glow.
In addition to this large center display I also want to have a smaller, similar display off to one side. This one will be green.

This is sort of the look I am going for:

11jk2.jpg

Remember, the colors I will be using are orange and green.

Now this is where I turn to you guys. What are your recommendations for accomplishing this?

What type of plastic/cover material should I be using for this? I was thinking that the plastic screen used to cover florescent kitchen lights might be a good start...but not sure on that one. I would prefer it if the material remained a "white" color when not switched on...but that's not a big deal.

And what should I be doing with the LEDs themselves? Will this work properly if the LED's shine directly under the display or should they be diffused somehow?