American Mcgee's Alice: Madness Returns Dress

VilleLeskinen

Sr Member
Hey you all! So finally after weeks of asking my girlfriend what she'll dress as on halloween, she settled on Alice from the new Mcgee's game; madness returns! As I've never done a piece like this before, I hope some of you pro's could help me out on things. I haven't really begun looking for the fabric but I hope that won't be a problem. The knife (Vorpal Blade) might actually be the hardest for me to pull out as I'm fairly new (ok, I'm really new) to prop building too. I might, if there'll be time for it, try tackling a mad hatter costume for myself but we'll see. Here are some photos I'll use as a starting point until the game will come out (June 16) so not long to go! Yey!

The dress and the apron:
I'll most likely be using coarse cotton for both the dress and the apron. It seems that most of the new cgi use fabrics that are non-existing as was discussed on the new catwoman costume thread.I mean, cotton won't shine of like that, will it?

The shoes:
Any help finding the shoes would be greatly appreciated
. And to make things more interesting, they have to be vegetarian, ie. synthetic as we're both vegans:lol

The Vorpal Blade:
This I'll most likely be making from plywood as I've done a machete from it and have no experience casting anything.

The skull:
I might modify an euro store skull to fit the bill.

So what do you guys think? Can I pull this off? What do I need to consider? Have I missed something important?

Oh yeah, almost forgot:

It seems to me that the knife is not engraved in the game photos but the real life replica that they are selling seems to be as seen on this site:
American McGee's Alice Vorpal Blade replica exists, is irrationally desired, Alice: Madness Returns PC News | GamesRadar

Last edited:
Looks like you've certainly done your research. :lol