Studio Scale and MR on a Budget!

Bryancd

Master Member
I love MR's Y-Wing but just can't see myself dropping the coin for one so I took my crappy Target Y-Wing, the one with the crappy silver paint job and red markings and did a little amatuer repaint. I'm a complete novice compared to the awesome talents on this board but I was very happy with the results. :)

My Low rent studio scale fleet.

[attachmentid=9418]

[attachmentid=9415]

[attachmentid=9416]

[attachmentid=9417]

And my low rent version of the MR Walker.

[attachmentid=9419]

The Walker was that static model made last year for a Star Wars RPG but I can't remember all the specifics. We had a few threads going on them and a few folks were altering the models to look more like MR's. They are roughly the same size, but this one cost about $45.00.

<div class='quotetop'>(Bryancd @ Aug 7 2006, 08:59 AM) [snapback]1295463[/snapback]</div>
The Walker was that static model made last year for a Star Wars RPG but I can't remember all the specifics. We had a few threads going on them and a few folks were altering the models to look more like MR's. They are roughly the same size, but this one cost about $45.00.
[/b]

this should be in the general modeling forum, looks good, but a bit more weathering, dark wash would bring out details. The MR at-at is several inches bigger, so not in the same league as the one by wizard of the coast.

No, you're right, this isn't really Studio Scale and yes the Walker is smaller, but note my point was what can be accomplished on the cheap :). The Y-wing is actually in person a bit more weathered, it just didn't show up in the photo. I also added some chrome silver details that you can't see. Remember, this was the God awful Target version that had a silver body and red markings. Please also keep in mind, I am an extreme novice at painting and I didn't want to mess it up.