New Vegas NCR Veteran Ranger WIP

qckslvr546

Hey, been wanting to make this character for a while but couldn't figure out how since I've never used pepakura, foam, rondo or any of that stuff lol. But then I saw Kommissar' s build (http://www.therpf.com/f24/fallout-new-vegas-ncr-veteran-ranger-finished-pg-8-a-101257/) and it really helped so I decided to try my hand at it. This is my first build and like I said first time using pepakura, foam, resin so it should be interesting lol I can usually only work on it on weekends so it's going to be kind of a slow build but my main hope is that anyone also doing this or their first build will be able to learn from my most likely many mistakes lol. Here's the character for reference.
NCR.jpg

Starting with the mask first. Cut it out using xacto knife and hot glued it together.
IMG_0014.jpg

And made my first mistake lol Folded the ends mountain instead of valley and you end up with this
IMG_0017.jpg

IMG_0019.jpg

I ended up just cutting sections out to make them fit flat
IMG_0020.jpg

Pieces all put together
IMG_0021.jpg

Like Kommissar, I wanted to make some parts out of real stuff instead of paper so I put paper over some of the sections and added to the forehead a little so I would have to some extra room if my helmet moves around
IMG_0022.jpg

IMG_0023.jpg

Thought I'd show some of the materials I'll be using while my resin dries.

Here's the fiberglass helmet liner Im using as the helmet instead of a paper one. Got it at an army surplus store for $10
IMG_0025-1.jpg

IMG_0026.jpg

The foam for the armor from Harbor Freight
IMG_0037.jpg

IMG_0035.jpg

The 1/4" foam that will be wrapped around my chest and have the armor pieces glued to it. I think it's called car roof liner foam or something.
IMG_0027.jpg

IMG_0028.jpg

Dark brown duck cloth for the duster. Will show a pic of the pattern when it comes in.
IMG_0031.jpg

Good stuff so far. I'm starting to consider doing this one for myself.