Page 1 of 7 123456 ... LastLast
Subscribe
    From
    Corning, New York
    Oct 22, 2011, 9:06 PM - Terra Nova: Pistol Build Tutorial #1

After doing the Rifle for this show, I guess I can't leave the Pistol out of my collection. So, as I'm still a newbie here and not allowed to offer anything in the Junkyard (yet ), here's how YOU can build a nice prop.

You'll need:
    Nerf N-Strike Nite Finder Pistol
    The Flashlite from a Nerf Recon CS-6
    6" of 3/4" PVC
    Female 3/4" PVC end cap
    Mini-Mag Flashlight, the 2 cell AA (BOTH the LED and regular are used in the show so either is correct)

Here we go!

Disassemble the Nerf gun and the Recon Flash lite by taking out all the screws. Carefully, lots of little springs inside that can go TWANG! and be lost.
    NOTE: I like things that work so I'm going to keep the original LED Targeter.
    Remove all the parts you won't be needing till it looks like this picture.

Dremell the trigger as shown:

Gut the lens for the light and put it back togeather. It's a used part for the top of the gun, so save it!

Dremell and sand the PVC so the Female end fits good. Then put the angle on the piece and glue it flush. After it sets up, a little glazzing putty with your finger around the edge and a light sanding completes the barrel. Give it a quick shot with black spraypaint to be sure it looks right.

Choice time: If your going to put it under glass or hang it on a wall, use bondo to fill in the body sections. If it's going to walk around with you as part of a costume, Short Strand Fiberglass.

Once the two Bodys are done, sand the face of the grey piece that was holding the batteries in for the Recon Flash lite.

You should be here...

More later ...
  2. How YOU do'in? RPF Premium Member Mara Jade's Father's Avatar
    From
    NAS Jacksonville
    Oct 22, 2011, 9:10 PM - Re: Terra Nova: Pistol Build Tutorial #2

I was hoping someone woud do this one.
  3. Majestic 3 RPF Premium Member sean's Avatar
    From