Techta's 2014 Halloween Costume Contest Entry

Techta

I've been a costume enthusiast my whole life, but even after working hard on a Prince Robot IV costume with the help of family and friends, I have never considered myself a cosplayer until now. I have had so many ideas and wishes, but lacked any real experience to make something on my own. I've never made a prop, never sewed a costume -- I am an expert in the realm of thrifting and modification of existing objects. But finally, I was inspired enough by various cosplayers and prop-makers to take that leap. So, I sat down like a complete noob and said, "If there is one thing in the entire world that would be worth selling my soul to make, it's the assault rifle from District 9."

Let me briefly say, for no other reason than I feel it needs to be said on my part, that District 9 is by far the most influential movie in my entire life. It is not only my favorite film, but it is one those few things that I can really boil down to be the impetus for change in my life. There was my first job at the Marine Science Department, and then there's D9. To call myself a fan would be part of the story, because really the film touched me deep in a way no work of art ever has, and it represents such a vital period of happiness at a time in my life I felt couldn't be darker, that the idea of having a tiny piece of that world to hold in my hands would be worth climbing any mountain.

So, I set me eyes and said, "I can do this. I can 'fokken' do this."

And thus began a journey into complete mystery, and the selling of my soul and a month's worth of paychecks towards newfound experience and adoration in the realm of cosplay. Thus began the construction of my very first prop, the District 9 Alien Assault Rifle.