Rocketeer pack build (UPDATE 07/02/2011)

Re: Rocketeer pack build

Could you share the type of materials you are using to build the pack?

Thanks,

-Eric

I thought some of you guys would like an update on my pack build, as you can see I have just started to sculpt the centre section, this is my first time working with clay so fingers crossed I can get it right.
cheers
jamie

you know you recast that from an acme pack ;)

that is amazing.....by far one of the best scratch builds I have seen for the longest time!

HaHa I think it would have been alot easier, If mine even looks half as good as the acme pack when finished I would be more than pleased. Thanks for your kind words mate It means alot coming from you
cheers
jamie

Re: Rocketeer pack build (UPDATE 24/4/2011)

Looking good! I am going to be needing one of these pretty soon.

-Eric

Does anyone know the best thing for smoothing klean klay, I've read that rubbing alcohol is okay?

Wow, hikz - that's looking amazing!

It appears that on the schematics and the other replica above, the stips/vents on the bottoms of the cylinder run parallel to the ground (when the pack is standing up) rather than perpendicular to each cylinder as they are on your pack - which is correct?

Hikz,
Love the pack. klean klay is a very soft clay it is mostly used for the mold making, you make the parting lines with it. I use it for sculpting as well, you can use hand lotion to smooth the clay. Also you can smooth the clay with panty hose and the hand lotion . Rubbing alcohol, mineral spirits breaks down the clay, so I use it last with a soft paint brush. Also feel free to ask mold question I have a mold making shop, mostly for fine art, props are just my hobby.

Last edited:

This is looking great ! Yu should make a Vacuformed version of this for us that can't shell out $1,000 for a pack. Would be nice and light too !

-AJ

Wow, hikz - that's looking amazing!