Subscribe
  1. Member Since
    Jan 2009
    Messages
    285
    6 Days Ago  Sep 9, 2014, 11:06 PM - M.R. training remote opinions #1

    I've searched and there doesn't seem to be much in the way of reviews. I hard one of Frank's castings years ago but never finished it. I ended I p selling it. It was very nice and I've regretted letting it go. I have an m.r. coming that I got for a pretty fair price and wondered in terms of accuracy, how it stacks up. I plan to display it with my obi wan and luke anh sabers.

    Thanks in advance
  2. Member Since
    Jan 2009
    Messages
    285
    6 Days Ago  Sep 10, 2014, 12:40 PM - Re: M.R. training remote opinions #2

    Wow, a lot of views, but no comments? Well, I guess it hasn't even been a whole day yet. I almost forget when I posted this. lol That was exactly what I found when I did a search here as well as a google search . I'm surprised there aren't many reviews of it. Oh well, I will see for myself when it arrives tomorrow.
  3. How YOU do'in? RPF Premium Member Mara Jade's Father's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 1999
    From
    NAS Jacksonville
    Messages
    13,349
    6 Days Ago  Sep 10, 2014, 2:40 PM - Re: M.R. training remote opinions #3

    If I remember correctly, Frank's remote was used as the base design for the MR. I also know that Frank did some consulting work with MR as well. I would image the remote was one item he did it for but I do not know that for sure.

    Before the MR, I had one of Frank's but it was stolen. I do not remember too much of a difference but I am not an expert in the tiny details of the design. Frank's could be made without a hole or you could insert a small tube from top to bottom to run a string through to hang it.

    Here are pict's of Frank's remote with paint and finishing work done by Richie's Armor.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	remote.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	42.1 KB 
ID:	375136Click image for larger version. 

Name:	myremote.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	79.4 KB 
ID:	375135
  4. Member Since
    Jan 2009
    Messages
    285
    6 Days Ago  Sep 10, 2014, 3:34 PM - Re: M.R. training remote opinions #4

    Thanks for the info. I guess that makes sense that Frank would have at least been the consultant on that prop. He knows more about the remote than anyway. That is horrible that yours was stolen. I appreciate the response. Richie's Armor? Wow, I haven't heard that name in a long time!
  5. superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2003
    From
    Newport News, VA
    Messages
    2,134
    6 Days Ago  Sep 10, 2014, 4:05 PM - Re: M.R. training remote opinions #5

    I have one of the MR remotes. It's a beautiful replica. Nice detail and weathering throughout.
    It even has the reflective Scotchlite tape inside the emitters.
  6. How YOU do'in? RPF Premium Member Mara Jade's Father's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 1999
    From
    NAS Jacksonville
    Messages
    13,349
    6 Days Ago  Sep 10, 2014, 5:16 PM - Re: M.R. training remote opinions #6

    I recently made a raised platform for my MR Remote and put it in a bell jar:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1587.JPG 
Views:	15 
Size:	3.30 MB 
ID:	375196   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1586.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	2.44 MB 
ID:	375197  
  7. superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2003
    From
    Newport News, VA
    Messages
    2,134
    5 Days Ago  Sep 11, 2014, 1:55 PM - Re: M.R. training remote opinions #7

    MJF, that looks really good like that!
    I just have mine in the original MR case. I have a lot of other cased
    props and I think it fits in better with my collection that way.
  8. Member Since
    Feb 2014
    From
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Messages
    76
    5 Days Ago  Sep 11, 2014, 2:01 PM - Re: M.R. training remote opinions #8

    I'm no expert, but I have the MR training remote and have paused the movie and help the prop up to the TV screen and it looks pretty darn accurate to me.

    Mike
  9. How YOU do'in? RPF Premium Member Mara Jade's Father's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 1999
    From
    NAS Jacksonville
    Messages
    13,349
    5 Days Ago  Sep 11, 2014, 2:34 PM - Re: M.R. training remote opinions #9

    superjedi said: View Post
    MJF, that looks really good like that!
    I just have mine in the original MR case. I have a lot of other cased
    props and I think it fits in better with my collection that way.
    The MR remote did not come with a case, just the stand. Maybe you are thinking if the special run of cases made for them by Rebelscum.com.

    I was lucky to find a place (hobby lobby) that sells large glass domes real cheap. I think the whole thing costs about $35 to $40 and that includes shipping costs.

    here is a thread about it: http://www.therpf.com/showthread.php?t=208656
  10. superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2003
    From
    Newport News, VA
    Messages
    2,134
    5 Days Ago  Sep 11, 2014, 5:43 PM - Re: M.R. training remote opinions #10

    Oh that's right!! I totally forgot about that. I did get that case through Rebelscum.

Similar Threads

  1. TRAINING REMOTE KITS? Interest check?
    BrundelFly, Studio Scale Models
    Replies: 89
    Last Post: Mar 31, 2008, 12:11 PM
  2. Truly hovering Jedi Training Remote
    Gigatron, Star Wars Costumes and Props
    Replies: 74
    Last Post: May 18, 2006, 9:13 AM
  3. MR Jedi Training Remote Elite Edition
    Jediwannabe, Star Wars Costumes and Props
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: May 1, 2006, 10:52 AM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: Apr 6, 2006, 12:34 PM
  5. Jedi training remote....parts!
    Coinprop, Studio Scale Models
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: Nov 11, 2004, 7:13 PM