3D printed Iron Man mark VII

tehfailsafe

After seeing all these awesome suits I decided I want to make as Iron man mk VII suit. I tried to make it with pep, but after trying to cut and glue the hand I got so discouraged I gave up. Then I saw this amazing thread by Talaaya and knew what I had to do. http://www.therpf.com/f24/3d-printed-samus-varia-suit-186414/

Convinced my wife to let me buy a 3D printer, but only after I actually have the model ready to print. That spurred me to finally learn to 3D model fully. I have been doing low poly 3D for 6-7 years or so, but never got super deep into high poly subd surfaces. I also have some zbrush organic modelling experience but not hard surfaces. Think I'm starting to get the hang of it though.

I am basing it off Josh Herman's shots in his portfolio.

mark7_photo_allup.jpg

I decided to start with the shin and work my way up. I really liked how he has that little twist added to the front, really wanted to capture that.
shin_v1.jpg

Next will be adding details in zbrush:
shin_v1_zbrush.jpg

Last edited:
Re: [yet another] Iron Man mkVII

Wow man that's awesome !
hey you might want to modify your blueprint since its a panoramic render you will have some proportions issues !
subscribed for sure !

Thanks, big compliment coming from you!

I haven't found any blueprints to go off of, do you know of any? I've seen a few decent mkIIIs, but not VII. I asked Josh Herman on CGHub if he would be so kind as to do ortho renders, but unsurprisingly he didn't answer me. :lol

So I'm not going off a blueprint at all, just eyeballing it. I haven't even had the renders as a background layer, that messed me up more due to the lens distortion, Instead I just have it up on another monitor and for reference.

Decided to practice a bit on the mkIII since I have good otrho views of it. Banged my head on the wall a bit on the VII thigh.
Once I get some better modelling skills under my belt I'll come back to the mkVII.