Helm of Yngol clay sculpt, finished, pics last page

kwalsh0000

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Hey all,

Im back with another Skyrim helmet (im addicted!) after my Ancient Nord and Iron Helmet.

I am slowly getting faster at them and have a few hours in this. Apart from the horn base (which has a small PVC pipe to get a general circle) its all freehand like the others.

The detail work was done quickly the other night but I am thinking its a bit too thick so will re do it thinner but heres where I am at (all criticism welcomed)

Last edited:
Re: Helm of Yngol clay sculpt

Awesome work. I do have a question though. As a sculpture noob, what is the point of raking?

Cheers man. I have made some significant changes to the shapes and begun texturing (no photos yet though).

I am still a noob myself but from my experience the raking allows me to quickly shape larger chunks of clay down to a more refined piece evenly aswell as being a great tool to even out areas (such as domes, flat surfaces etc) as when raking it quickly shows you where the pits and uneven areas are. Plus an added benefit of the raking would be the shadows the rake lines cast which allow you to see the shape and curves easier than a smooth surface.

Cheers Johnny! Means alot coming from someone with your quality of work.

Here is where I am at the moment (getting a couple of hours in each week when the the lil guy is asleep), still not happy with the hammered texture but will keep re doing it until I get it right. Its harder to get a nice hammered texture in clay than i realized. With Aves Apoxy you can dent then sand and it creates that nice separating ridge, same for bondo etc but when you dent the clay, the excess clay has to go somewhere and raking can be too heavy but sure its a learning curve

Nice, I like your work. In the future I would like them too. I would also like the antique swords or with unusual shapes.:thumbsup

Thanks lads!