1. Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Message Count
    20
    Dec 18, 2011 - Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #1

    Hi guys, I'm really pleased to be apart of this community as props are a real passion of mine.

    I am trying to build up a collection of props from Santa Claus The Movie (1985) and I came across a prop in rareprops.net... who I haven't heard anything about. Can anyone one recommend them? Are they credible/legit?

    I really want to get this Santa Claus The Movie - elf blueprint prop from Rare Props but am a bit wary of the site.

    Any help would be much appreciated
  2. RPF Premium Member IndyFanChuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Memphis TN!!!!!!!!
    Message Count
    1,451
    Dec 18, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #2

    Hey brother,

    I don't know for sure, but I can tell you other people here are very very knowledgeable.

    I trust screenused.com and propstore.com and would recommend them very highly!

    Hope that helps at least a little!



    --Chuck
  3. Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Message Count
    2,359
    Dec 18, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #3

    They've been around for a long time. I ordered stuff from him back in 2004 I believe. Was happy with it. But that was 7 years ago too. I'm not saying it's a big recommendation, but I didn't have a problem with my one order.
  4. Jericho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Message Count
    86
    Dec 19, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #4

    I emailed him about a prop and it came back un delivered the address was the same one on the site, my opinion is it looks too new for my likeing, but that's my opinion and don't want to make your mind up.

    Jericho
  5. Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Message Count
    20
    Dec 19, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #5

    Thanks guys for all your help. I'm a bit wary about them to be honest. I'll try contacting them as well and then play it be ear.
  6. LDR is offline
    LDR
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    the big wide world
    Message Count
    923
    Dec 19, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #6

    I bought from him long ago to, and had no problems.

    My friend won something from ebay from him, but that never showed up.

    I've tried contacting him via email, ebay, and ringing the number as he has some stuff im interested in.

    I cannot get hold of him at all. So no idea if hes still in business.
  7. Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Message Count
    20
    Dec 19, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #7

    I wonder if I took a chance and just bought it, I wonder how much of a risk I would be taking? Once I get a COA... although, how genuine are those? Couldn't anyone just make one up? I did get baddly ripped off before, so I'm very scetchy about buying props nowadays.
  8. LDR is offline
    LDR
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    the big wide world
    Message Count
    923
    Dec 19, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #8

    well i put some stuff in my basket on the site, and it sends and email to ask for a total etc...again i never got anything back.

    I dont think you can pay until he sends another email out.
  9. Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Message Count
    20
    Dec 19, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #9

    LDR said: View Post
    well i put some stuff in my basket on the site, and it sends and email to ask for a total etc...again i never got anything back.

    I dont think you can pay until he sends another email out.
    Maybe I'm wrong, but I thought I saw an option to pay with PayPal.
  10. LDR is offline
    LDR
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    the big wide world
    Message Count
    923
    Dec 19, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #10

    I'm not sure i'd risk it, esp if hes not even answering the phone.

    I'd try and make contact first...if he doesnt reply. Dont buy!

    If you cant get hold of him when he hasnt even got your money, how are you going to get hold of him when he has got your money?
  11. Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Message Count
    20
    Dec 19, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #11

    LDR said: View Post
    I'm not sure i'd risk it, esp if hes not even answering the phone.

    I'd try and make contact first...if he doesnt reply. Dont buy!

    If you cant get hold of him when he hasnt even got your money, how are you going to get hold of him when he has got your money?
    Fair point. I won't risk it. I'll wait and see what happens. I contacted him via his ebay account, so we'll see what happens. I'll let you all know if I get any reply.
    It's so annoying... I really want this to be legit, as I'm always after SCTM props.

    Thanks again folks
  12. 666 is offline
    666
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Message Count
    70
    Dec 30, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #12

    I know this is not what you are looking for, take me 3 minutes,

    Print it, use some tea, coffee, lemon and iron, crump

    and your prop it's ready, cheap as a single piece of paper

    it doesn't have background
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails xmas-wml.png  
    Last edited by 666; Dec 30, 2011 at 12:16 AM. Reason: missing
  13. Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Message Count
    20
    Dec 30, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #13

    666 said: View Post
    I know this is not what you are looking for, take me 3 minutes,

    Print it, use some tea, coffee, lemon and iron, crump

    and your prop it's ready, cheap as a single piece of paper

    it doesn't have background
    I really appreciate that... thanks.

    I suppose one way of looking at it would be that, if I had have bought the one on rareprops and it had turned out to be a fake, then this would be just as good, so thanks a million for sending that on.

    Just out of interest, where did you get the picture/photo from? It looks really clean.
  14. Birdie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Message Count
    4,964
    Dec 30, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #14

    This guy is no longer operational, and in the past has had dubious practices. Don't buy!
    Last edited by Birdie; Dec 31, 2011 at 10:55 AM.
  15. Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Message Count
    20
    Dec 30, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #15

    Birdie said: View Post
    This guy is no longer operational, and in the past has had dubitious practices. Don't buy!
    I guess it's good thing so. Thanks for the info.

    I'm gutted though... I was really hoping this was going to be something that I could get, so that I could start a SCTM props collection.

    Does anyone know of any for sale or where I might look? Prop store never seem to have any.
  16. Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Message Count
    3
    Dec 30, 2011 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #16

    Almost the same scenario here, I've bought many an item from him in the past without a hitch but sadly no comms whatsoever re a recent purchase request! Gave up in the end and bought elsewhere...
    Last edited by 223413720; Dec 30, 2011 at 9:32 PM. Reason: Phrased it a little better...
  17. Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Message Count
    20
    Jan 1, 2012 - Re: Newbie Question about the Rareprops.net. Are they legit? #17

    223413720 said: View Post
    Almost the same scenario here, I've bought many an item from him in the past without a hitch but sadly no comms whatsoever re a recent purchase request! Gave up in the end and bought elsewhere...
    That's a shame. Hope it worked out for you.

Similar Threads

  1. another newbie question...
    ironman wanabee, Replica Movie Costumes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: Sep 29, 2012, 7:20 AM
  2. rareprops / Prop Warehouse
    Darkbeauty, Screen-Used Movie Props and Wardrobe
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Aug 20, 2011, 7:17 AM
  3. Newbie Graflex Question
    ajones1138, Replica Movie Props
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: Jul 17, 2010, 12:42 AM
  4. Newbie Ghostbusters Question
    Dave Ward, Replica Movie Costumes
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jun 7, 2010, 1:44 AM

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11