Tevina's 2013 Halloween Costume Contest Entry

Tevina

Hello! I’m new to the board and haven’t posted before but I have checked out some of the threads and I've been very impressed with all of the costumes! This is my first time entering a contest on RPF so I hope I am following all the rules correctly.

I began cosplaying in 2004 and attended cons and cosplayed at conventions until a couple years ago. I had to withdraw a bit from the hobby because school and work. The costume that I am entering for the RPF 2013 Halloween contest is my Blood Elf Hunter from World of Warcraft. I make all of my costumes and props myself and intend to keep it that way. Unfortunately, I did not take any in progress/build pics (I had to rush to finish this costume) but I will post some close-up shots and explain how I made everything

To start things off, here are the main shots of my costume and the following posts will have the 'how-to' and proof pic! Enjoy!! :)

costume-professional41-large.jpgl_00adc1832e564927a16d070941fd3c91.gifl_74b7c6faef10b58bdc2769091769c5f2.jpg

Here is a summary break down of how I made my costume:

Ears
I started out with a wire base and cut the shape of the ear into the wire and then coated it with paper mache material and paper clay. After smoothing out the base of the ear, I used more paper clay to mold the designs on the ear and painted with regular acrylic paint (hand painted). I added a few rhinestones for a feminine touch. I attached the ears together with a thin wire that rests on top of the head and a small elastic band in the back to keep it upright.

0811a.jpgw.jpg

Armor (shoulder,gauntlets, belt, etc)