My foam Bane mask WIP

Looks great! What did you use for the ripped piping on the front?

Also I know you provided the thickness in the other thread, but can you give some more information about what kind of foam you are using? I am completely new to the world of foam prop making.

Was this cut free hand based on looking at images or did you use a template? Also what thickness of foam did you use?

Looking really good!

2 Questions, Eric! (BTW this is the best handmade version of the mask I've seen thus far; I'll likely try to recreate it myself.)

1. I think you posted that your foam is 6mm thick... So is that two layers of the same foam with the bottom layer slightly bigger, or did you cut a notch out of the edge all the way around?

2. Obviously, once the template is made, you're cutting two pieces and fusing together down the center; how are you smoothing your seam?

2 Questions, Eric! (BTW this is the best handmade version of the mask I've seen thus far; I'll likely try to recreate it myself.)

1. I think you posted that your foam is 6mm thick... So is that two layers of the same foam with the bottom layer slightly bigger, or did you cut a notch out of the edge all the way around?

2. Obviously, once the template is made, you're cutting two pieces and fusing together down the center; how are you smoothing your seam?

Thank you for appreciating my work.

Answer on question number 1--- Yes. I cut around the foam.
Answer on question number 2--- My best answer is you just have to make it as seamless as possible. I'm kinda bit OC. hehe.

Enjoy making it. :)

Last edited:
Just wanna say a big thanks for sharing your template i used it to make a quick bane mask for my mate and he loves it!!! Cheers mate :)

OK, so it is one layer with a notch cut out all around? crazy! I really hope I can pull off that cut - any tips would help.