[MrCaraco]'s 2013 Halloween Costume Contest Entry

MrCaraco

This is my first prop/costume/cosplay that I've ever done before. I've always wanted to build my own helmet, props, and finally found the time to try it. For myself I'm a graphic designer that did some furniture design while in school, so I have a little primer in shaping, sanding, and working in 3D. I think the most challenging aspect of this project was all the new techniques that I had to figure out to make this a reality: sculpting, moldmaking, casting, electronics.

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\

This is my Guy Man project as it stands after the past few weeks.
As was the inspiration for many, Volpin's build really inspired me to try one on my own, since I've always wanted to...

I'm working in my spare time, and have no power tools besides my trusty proxxon, of course.

IMG_20130818_163121.jpg

IMAG0569.jpg

cardboard cross sections

IMAG0571.jpg

IMG_20130819_215536.jpg

gap filler sprayed and carved

IMG_20130820_125522.jpg

air dry clay applied over the foam

IMG_20130823_200058.jpg

IMAG0586.jpg

IMG_20130825_173417.jpg

Bondo, Spot Putty, Sanding, Repeat!

IMG_20130914_165927.jpg

IMAG0641.jpg

IMG_20130918_170513.jpg

"Ear" designs were lasercut from a local shop

IMAG0648.jpg

IMAG0651.jpg

IMAG0652.jpg

And just about where I am tonight, I've mapped out and applied the layer of clay for the chin, headband, and other flat detail, tomorrow it should be dry and ready to sand, shape, and refine.

Any and all suggestions, tips, or glaring mistakes please do tell, I'd love to hear them.

Last edited:
Re: Guy Manuel Build - Look ma, no power tools!

Update on the build, the 'straps' have been put in place and most of the shaping has been done. Also, all the electronics have been ordered! woot!

IMAG0660.jpg

IMAG0668.jpg

IMG_20130922_180501.jpg

IMG_20130922_180643.jpg

IMG_20130925_125630.jpg

IMAG0675.jpg

IMG_20130925_184938.jpg

IMAG0674.jpg

//////////////////////