Jessetattoo's 2014 Halloween Costume Contest Entry - new memeber

Jessetattoo

First off Iv been a fan of Stan Sakai's Usagi Yojimbo comics since i was a kid in the 80's and have started re-reading them all this year. And i had started a costume for a con, and half way thru decided that i wanted to make a comic style Usagi costume as close to Stan sakai's drawings as i could get, now keep in mind im very new to making costumes.

I wish i had taken more pics of my process, but here is what i have...
View attachment 343800 9577.jpg
First off I hand sewn some 3fingers gloves outa white fleece and used green hockey tape to make my old wallhanger swords fit the bill.
View attachment 343778View attachment 343804
Then i used a foam head with clay and masking take to bulk out the shapes, then covered it all in plaster cast strips and hotglued more fleece and used oil pens for details, ears are foam mat strips covered in fleece.
View attachment 343779View attachment 343780View attachment 343782View attachment 343783
I looked all over for a blue kimono with no luck, i decided to make my own, and with no pattern just looking at what others have done online eyeballed it and im very happy with how it turned out. always was hard to find the correct fabric but i did find some.
View attachment 343801View attachment 343803
The hakama (pants) i bought online. and made the sandals out of some cheap walmart ones. painted a water bottle to look like a bamboo one, and did the belt outa a marital arts belt, all hotglue and Velcro to keep it all in place. I did have a fan rigged into the head as it got hot fast, but not 10mins into the con the battery pack fell out and broke. so it was a VERY HOT CON lol
View attachment 343810View attachment 343809View attachment 343799