Iron sky moon trooper research thread

yodakiller1138

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
I am planning on doing a Moon trooper Nazi soldier from the movie Iron Sky. Have reference pics from the film as well as pics from Prop Store auction site.

Just won the correct Finnish gas mask on Ebay. Anyhow, needed help from experts on the board. Has anyone identified the uniform that is used on the costume? Looks like Afrikakorp , but I wasn't sure.

Also can anyone tell me what the respirator tubes and fittings are from? Scuba gear?

Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited:
Re: Iron sky moon trooper help?

I am no expert, but I am interested in ww2, so of course I saw the movie too.
They look like the M43 Waffen SS jacket, but I think the color may have been digitally edited or custom made. The color on the Afrika Korps jackets look way to bright for me compared to the film, even though pretty much everything in the film was dark. I take it that you are talking about the jacket and not the long leather coat?

My best guess is that the tubes and fittings are from a scuba gear shop. Possibly some kind of plumber shop and modified, although this is much more unlikely.

I hope I answered your questions and we're all hoping for pictures on the build! :)

Dug out my Pre Prop pix.
Front hose looks like a hair dryer hose (clear with wire spiral) that folks use for TIE Pilots, or even an older vaccume cleaner hose and the back (smaller) hose is a pool or aquarium hose.
I just threw out one like it that I had sitting in my backyard, it was orange.

Well I did see the movie on Netflix a few months ago, although I didn't really make any technical observasions while watching it. So, I googled "iron sky moon trooper" but didn't find anything consistent. It seems to me that they used any german uniform item they could find and figured that nobody would know the difference (or even care for that matter).