gilas's 2014 Halloween Costume Contest Entry : Minions

gilas

Hello rpf'ers! To start with, my 5 year old son will be joining a costume party that will be held in school. My first plan was to build an iron patriot costume for him. I’ve actually started building some parts but because of scaling problem and I assumed that I will not be able to finish the whole suit in time, I have to choose an easier costume , a Despicable me minion, and that is what this thread is all about :D

As a costume builder, I can say that I'm a total noob/beginner compared to other members here, whose work are amazing. (I would like to thank you guys for inspiring me to build) Last year I tried to build an iron man mark 4 for my son (who was then a 4 year old lad) and i failed to finish the entire suit and ended up buying an ironman costume instead :( This time I'm determined not to buy a costume and do it myself.

The primary material for this costume build is a slice foam that I bought in a shop that sells materials use for making shoes and bags.

The materials/tools :
DSC_1564.JPG

I started making a cylinder shape for the body:
DSC_1575.JPG

inside, I put a shoulder strap that will surely help to carry the weight of the costume
DSC_1566.JPG

Cutting circles for the goggle:
DSC_1570.JPG

cutting the upper teeth
DSC_1571.JPG

When we visited a mall near our place to gather some supplies (glue stick, styro ball), i've seen this:
10603660_1508477376061354_7061131810046597900_n.jpg

a costume contest for kids ages 10 and below and the theme was "Day of the villains". We decided to join the contest. So the plan was first, to create an evil minion (purple) and then after the contest, i will just repaint it with yellow and modify some parts.

The paints that I used and my cute niece :D
DSC_1573.JPG

Here's a look at the minion's body painted and teeth attached:
DSC_1567.JPG

for the eye balls, i used a styro ball and cut it in half:
DSC_1574.JPG