First build: daft punk Thomas Bangalter helmet

RowBoatCop

Hi guys, I got some great feedback about painting this thing last week which helped me get over the line in time for this past weekends festivities, so I just thought I'd post a few pics of the process. This is my first time attempting any serious prop building, so it's nowhere near the standard of the usual stuff on here but as a Halloween costume I think it worked out ok!

My main materials were a kids motocross helmet, some plastic placemats from ikea & a few plastic clipboards. I wanted to do the construction in plastic so that assuming I got the lines right I'd be able to prime & paint without having to use bondo/filler, which I have zero experience with.

eje5yse7.jpg

As I was doing this freehand from reference photos I has some trouble figuring out the curve on the visor, in the end I ended up building a sub structure for the lighter plastic visor top to sit on using the heavier clipboard plastic.

2a5yduge.jpg

masyzynu.jpg

After much trial & error I got the upper visor looking close to what I wanted, then it was on to the lower portion, I had to cut away more of the helmet "jaw" as I went along as it made the mouth part look far too out of proportion!

e8u7ygu6.jpg

5u3aqy2u.jpg

Eventually got the basic shape down.

ahy4e9e2.jpg

Next I trimmed the sides of the visor & started figuring out the shapes that made up the temple areas. I also got an a2 sheet of 2mm thick acetate from an art shop to use for the visor, I has originally planned to tint it using the fabric dye method, but I found no matter what I did (temperature/ amount of dye) it curled up and didn't take the tint at all. I ended up using a plastic document folder as a tint, horribly cloudy but I was short on time. Also here I was messing with the ear pucks, I ended up not using the lights, but I may add them in some form in future.

apyju5es.jpg