Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Subscribe
    Jul 31, 2011, 4:26 PM - EVA Foam? #1

Hello everyone. I am still quite new to costume and prop construction, and I have a few questions regarding EVA Foam, which is both really good for armor construction, and a little confusing.

1. What would be the best way to sand it? I took a dremel and some 400 grit sandpaper to it, and it seemed to get the job done, but not very well. Surely there is a better way?

2. Is there a way to glue EVA Foam together? Is there some sort of adhesive that I need, or will any glue work? (I'm partial to hot-glue, but I doubt I will see the result I'm looking for if I use it)

3. Is there a way to glue EVA Foam to cardboard? This question is rather important as I'm nearly done a vest and I wanted to have a cardboard backing to stick all my EVA Foam pieces to. Hopefully an efficient method exists.

4. Is resining and fiberglassing EVA Foam a good idea?

That's about it. Thanks for reading and responding if you choose to do so. Feedback is very much appreciated.
  2. RPF Premium Member Pannaus Props's Avatar
    From
    Rome, Italy
    Jul 31, 2011, 4:53 PM - Re: EVA Foam? #2

I can answer to your 2 and 4 question.
    2. There are usually 2 ways to glue the foam together. Either with super glue or hot glue (don't know if there are other means out there, but there are many guys here who will be able to tell what's best)
    4. I Don't think it is. Foam is used for its flexibility and putting it under resin or fiberglassing doesn't make much sense to me. BUt I could be mistaking

Hope this helps
    Jul 31, 2011, 4:55 PM - Re: EVA Foam? #3

It does. thanks a bunch
    From
    St. Paul, MN
    Jul 31, 2011, 6:10 PM - Re: EVA Foam? #4

For question No.2-

I've seen a lot of members use hot-glue for their projects, but I had used contact cement to keep the flexibility that I needed.
    Jul 31, 2011, 6:57 PM - Re: EVA Foam? #5