Erebor Dwarf Armor

TheLonelyDwarf

Hello RPF,
I would like to start of by saying that I am new to the world of costume and prop making so please do not judge me too harshly. Also i am only 14 years old so i do not have close to as much talent as most of the people on this forum. Now to the project itself. I credit Gibbtall for inspiring me to take on this project and I hope Gibbtall doesn't mind me using some of the techniques he uses. If you do please let me know.:)
I have wanted to build a Erebor dwarf armor since i saw the hobbit back in January but have not gotten to doing it because i didn't know where to start. I started building the armor a few days ago and here is my progress:
2013-11-29 10.45.45.jpg
2013-11-29 10.46.03.jpg
I made the 5/6 of the dome and the i ran out of foam!:facepalm
Ive ordered some more but it'll only come on wednesday. So while i am waiting i am making some rough templates for the arms.
2013-11-29 10.46.34.jpg
So thats my update for now the next one will probably be when i get the foam.

TheLonelyDwarf

Last edited:
I have not been able to do much so i do not have an update, but i had a question. I was looking at some pictures from The Hobbit and i saw that there were different pictures for Erebor dwarves and Moria battle dwarves. Is there any big difference in the armor itself?

If you're looking for something that matches the movies, check out my thread, I posted every good shot I could find of the Erebor Dwarves in the prologue, I'm not sure about the Moria Dwarves but I think there is a bit of a difference.

I have sad news. I started working on my helmet today again and realized it was way too small. :facepalm:( I started on a new helmet and built it to where my old helmet was. Here is a picture of it:
DSCN8684.JPG
May not look better but it actually fits and looks better in real life. Ive also cut out the eyes and will soon glue them on with the rest of the dome.
TheLonelyDwarf

Last edited: