Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Subscribe
    Jan 3, 2013, 4:31 AM - Re: Doctor Who - Tom Baker's S17 Frock Coat/Costume #26

Great build! You've only been sewing for how long? Holy cow, you make me look like a freaking noob, and I've been doing it for 20 years! Looks like you're achieving a pretty good fit there, btw, judging from your mock up.
    From
    Long Beach, CA
    Jan 3, 2013, 5:12 AM - Re: Doctor Who - Tom Baker's S17 Frock Coat/Costume #27

Thank you!

In regards to the blue wool coat, I decided there were too many noob mistakes in my pattern and stitching and really hated the fabric (too thick, WAY too dark) so I decided to scrap the project and come back to it in the future after I get a fabric I like better. It was a great learning experience, though. I have plenty of other stuff to focus on for now.

Shirt pattern is almost finished, I just have to adjust the front piece to fit and then combine the collar and collar stand pattern pieces into one. Not sure how that will work out, but the two curves on this pattern match up pretty closely, so I don't foresee big problems.
    From
    Long Beach, CA
    Jan 4, 2013, 6:03 AM - Re: Doctor Who - Tom Baker's S17 Frock Coat/Costume #28

That took longer than expected.

Theoretically, this is the most perfectly fitting dress shirt I'll ever wear. All seam allowances reduced to 1/2", because 5/8" is ridiculous. I also had to tweak some oddities in the Burda shirt pattern, ranging from the cuff being one piece folded in half up to the pleats in the sleeve end being in the wrong place (at least according to every shirt in my closet). Combining the collar and collar stand was pretty easy, and I think I got the shape of the collar point spot on. Really looking forward to sewing this one up.
    From
    Long Beach, CA
    Jan 5, 2013, 1:25 AM - Re: Doctor Who - Tom Baker's S17 Frock Coat/Costume #29