DirtyMoose's Game of Thrones "Other" costume, 2012 Halloween Costume Contest Entry

DirtyMoose

Hi everyone!

I am new to the RPF and this will be my first post. I've been costuming for the last couple years and getting fairly serious with some of my work. I would like to share with you my progress and steps surrounding the build of my "Other" costume or "White Walker" as referenced in the BBC show Game of Thrones.

I started with a head bust of myself to eventually create a latex mask for the character.

Sculpting proceeded with help from very few shots of the character found online. The hardest part was getting the dimensions to even out on both sides of the mask..this is my first time doing a large sculpt of this kind so i took it slow and made sure to follow steps provided by a Stan Winston tutorial found on there websight www.stanwinstonschool.com

I found edging out the detail with small strips of Monster makers clay was the best way to replicate the extremely wrinkled texture of the "Others" skin, the more i did this the easier and predictable it became and i was able to create some fairly good texture with it.

After smoothing by hand and with various sculpting tools i brushed the sculpt with alcohol 98% to smooth out the rough texturing and bring everything together. next i went over with fine detail texture using a wire brush and some crinkled up aluminum foil to create pours, skin imperfections and fine wrinkles.

After the detail layer i sealed the sculpt with Krylon clear spray.

Next was mold making... to do this i used gyp-son cement with a Plasticine mold wall, i wont go into the details because im sure there is a thread that explains this type of two part mold process.

Once the mold was completed i cast my mask using Monster Makers Latex which is specifically used for this application....It created a great thickness and is super strong and stretchy! http://www.therpf.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=121175&stc=1&d=1350942318