Subscribe
  1. Spank 'em if ya got 'em RPF Premium Member Spankuh's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2005
    From
    Peoria, IL
    Messages
    172
    Dec 8, 2005, 11:54 AM - #1

    I'm in the middle of assembling an Authenticprops suit and am just finishing up the helmet. While waiting for the kit to arrive I ordered an electronics setup from Skullworx. Has anyone installed one of these inside an AP helmet? Man, it's tight in there. I've had to completely retrofit the Skullworx kit to get it to fit. Even then, it's a delicate manuever getting the thing on and off.

    Are there any other AP owners out there? Are your buckets a tight fit also?

    HH
  2. ob1al's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    From
    UK
    Messages
    4,826
    Dec 8, 2005, 3:09 PM - #2

    Originally posted by Spankuh@Dec 8 2005, 05:54 PM
    I'm in the middle of assembling an Authenticprops suit and am just finishing up the helmet.* While waiting for the kit to arrive I ordered an electronics setup from Skullworx.* Has anyone installed one of these inside an AP helmet?* Man, it's tight in there.* I've had to completely retrofit the Skullworx kit to get it to fit.* Even then, it's a delicate manuever getting the thing on and off.*

    Are there any other AP owners out there?* Are your buckets a tight fit also?

    HH
    [snapback]1131518[/snapback]
    I don't own an Authenticprops helmet, but I think its true to say that all 'screen-accurate' sized buckets are a smaller fit (compared to the oversize FX helmets for example).

    I don't have a huge noggin, but still have to take my own Trooper bucket on and off sideways on.

    Welcome to the RPF BTW.
  3. gts072's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    From
    California, U.S.A.
    Messages
    229
    Dec 8, 2005, 5:00 PM - #3

    I think the AP helmet is even smaller than the originals since it is a third or even fourth generation recast. The details get even softer.
  4. Tim Allen's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2005
    From
    Southern Cali (Orange County)
    Messages
    591
    Dec 8, 2005, 5:12 PM - #4

    Originally posted by Spankuh@Dec 8 2005, 09:54 AM
    While waiting for the kit to arrive I ordered an electronics setup from Skullworx.* Has anyone installed one of these inside an AP helmet?*
    HH
    [snapback]1131518[/snapback]
    Is this the voice amp kit from the UK?
  5. Spank 'em if ya got 'em RPF Premium Member Spankuh's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2005
    From
    Peoria, IL
    Messages
    172
    Dec 8, 2005, 5:21 PM - #5

    Originally posted by ob1al@Dec 8 2005, 02:09 PM

    I don't own an Authenticprops helmet, but I think its true to say that all 'screen-accurate' sized buckets are a smaller fit (compared to the oversize FX helmets for example).

    I don't have a huge noggin, but still have to take my own Trooper bucket on and off sideways on.

    Welcome to the RPF BTW.
    [snapback]1131710[/snapback]
    Thanks for the welcome. I've seen some "behind the scenes" clips from ANH that show actors putting their buckets on sidways, so I guess they were small.

    HH
  6. TKBIG's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2004
    Messages
    535
    Dec 8, 2005, 7:33 PM - #6

    *edit*
    Negative on the smaller thing. I've seen several (TE, AP, GF) side by side.
    *edit*
  7. Trallis's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Messages
    759
    Dec 8, 2005, 7:54 PM - #7

    or a GF mk. 4..or is it 3, oh well.
    as for the sound system:
    i had a sound system that i made myself which took up about as much room as the skullworx one does.. youll be fine. youll have to turn your head sideways to put it on all the time but everything should fit.. youll just have to take care when your installing it
  8. Spank 'em if ya got 'em RPF Premium Member Spankuh's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2005
    From
    Peoria, IL
    Messages
    172
    Dec 9, 2005, 12:13 AM - #8

    Originally posted by Trallis@Dec 8 2005, 06:54 PM
    or a GF mk. 4..or is it 3, oh well.
    as for the sound system:
    i had a sound system that i made myself which took up about as much room as the skullworx one does.. youll be fine.* youll have to turn your head sideways to put it on all the time but everything should fit.. youll just have to take care when your installing it
    [snapback]1131934[/snapback]
    Where did you put the amp? The skullworx set comes with a nice little amp with a volume knob in small plastic enclosure. I'm having a hell of a time figuring out how to get that into the helmet and still be able to put it on.

    Any chance you have any pics of your setup?

    Thanks,

    HH
  9. Trallis's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Messages
    759
    Dec 9, 2005, 9:31 AM - #9

    mine was actualy a radioshack amp... i took out the circuit board and fit it on the left side in the sloped out part under my ear... it might be tougher with the palstic closure.. have you tried the chin area?
  10. SandtrooperScout's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2005
    From
    Omaha, NE
    Messages
    11
    Dec 9, 2005, 11:36 AM - #10

    I have one too, and yes, it's a tighter fit, but once its on its good. I haven't put anything in it, thinking it was too small/tight, but seeing how its been done, I may have to reconsider....
  11. Trallis's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Messages
    759
    Dec 9, 2005, 11:36 PM - #11

    yah.. i had the aeroator speakers going and i had all the wires and batteries tucked away. i also had a fan going in there.

    also i believe tk1536 has an instructional on how he did it in a TE helmet on his site
  12. SandtrooperScout's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2005
    From
    Omaha, NE
    Messages
    11
    Dec 11, 2005, 7:40 AM - #12

    Definately going to have to check that out.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 175
    Last Post: 5 Days Ago, 2:51 PM
  2. Replies: 50
    Last Post: Jan 23, 2014, 8:13 AM
  3. Replies: 54
    Last Post: Dec 11, 2012, 10:53 PM
  4. Replies: 26
    Last Post: Nov 18, 2012, 4:59 AM
  5. Replies: 14
    Last Post: Aug 30, 2012, 6:55 PM