1966 Penguin costume, Help me brothers!

IndyFanChuck

Sr Member
Hey friends,

I have been talking about doing this 1966 Penguin costume since 2005 when I joined the BotB costuming forum and never got around to doing it. I started this topic over there, and now want to talk about it here before I get started. I want to make a replica of the 1966 Penguin costume worn by the infamous Meredith Burgess! I loved this show when I was a child, and I don't care how cheesy it seems today! :p

So, I took a few screen grabs of the costume and I wanted to get suggestions, input, anything from you members. I am going to start this costume next weekend. I have to spend the next few days looking for the right fabrics, then my wife will do all the measurements and then on to the costume.

I know this may sound silly, but I think the top hat might be the hardest part to pull off. If done wrong, it could completely ruin the whole costume. I don't know if I should buy one and have it professionally painted the pinkish-purplish color OR...... well, I don't know.

And then, I want to get just the right umbrella. Anyway, here are the screen grabs I took of the Penguin.

Can you please share your suggestions with me? On what to do and what not do to? Thanks brothers and sisters!!!

-------Chuck

penguin_riddler_catwoman_joker.jpg

Penguin7.png

Penguin6.png

Penguin5.png

Penguin4.png

Penguin3.png

Penguin2.png

Penguin1.png

Black slacks, white dress shirt, black dress shoes with the white dress spats, black jacket.

It looks like he's wearing either black suspenders or another black vest underneath (I'm going to guess suspenders).

The gloves and the over-vest (can't remember what those things are called) are made of fuzzy-ish white. It looks like it attaches behind the collar, then comes down the front and attaches at the back as well with the 4 buttons on front.

Purple bow-tie to match the hat, cigarette, and monocle, and you're done. :)